top of page

Food Around the World

Behind every piece of food, whether it be a simple dish or a complex one, there is a story. Missing out on the opportunity to experience and speak to a variety of different cultures at the Eat Street Market on Thursday in Wollongong, I took to finding people from different backgrounds and some who have also moved from their birth country. Below is a short snippet of what I discovered, with more to be revealed throughout the project.

Francesca (pictured) moved to Australia from Bergamo, Italy 5 years ago. Her favourite meal is Pizza. She says the pizza’s here have too much oil and toppings, whereas in Italy, less is more.

Francesca’s favourite and very simple pizza (minus the prosciutto).

Chris was born in Cyrpus, before moving to England when he was a baby. Some favourite traditional meals of his include: Lokmadhes – doughnuts with honey syrup (yum!), Souvlakia – grilled lamb on skewers and dolmades (pictured below).

Dolmades – rice or meat in vine leaves.

For generation’s Wendy has been enjoying her grandmother’s Scottish soup, which is a childhood favourite.

“Every Sunday in winter we would have a bowl of soup, followed by grilled cheese on toast,” Wendy.

To Velika food is her life. It provides her with a connection to her homeland. So when Velika decided to move to Australia in 1975, there was no doubt she was going to bring her Macedonian way of life down under.

I can’t live without my vegetable garden and my bread. The doctor told me to stop eating bread, or if I don’t I will get diabetes. I told her if I stop eating bread I will die,” Velika.

bottom of page